Dark Sarah biography

Dark Sarah is a Finnish melodic metal band created by Vocalist Heidi Parviainen. She started working on Dark Sarah's debut album Behind the Black Veil after having made the decision to leave her former band Amberian Dawn in 2012. 

Dark Sarah style can be described as melodic and cinematic metal. The albums are concept albums telling a continuing story. The first three albums Behind The Black Veil, The Puzzle and The Golden Moth form The Chronicles trilogy. Also a short story book is written for each album to support the immersive experience.

Dark Sarah has now released four studio albums ( Behind The Black Veil, The Puzzle, The Golden Moth, Grim) and each one is crowdfunded on Indiegogo receiving full funding by the fans. Dark Sarah will release their fifth studio album “Attack Of Orym”,which also received full funding on Indiegogo, on January 27th 2023. During the ten years and five studio albums Dark Sarah has received a strong fanbase in Europe and established a solid ground in the symphonic metal and melodic metal scene.

In Finland Dark Sarah has been touring with Sonata Arctica and supported Within Temptation in Oulu. They have also performed at festivals like Metal Female Voices Fest - BE, Brainstorm festival - NL, John Smith Festival - FI and Tuska festival - FI. 


Behind The Black Veil (Inner Wound Recordings 2015)

The Puzzle (Inner Wound Recordings 2016)

The Golden Moth (Inner Wound Recordings 2018)

Grim (2020 Napalm Records)

Attack Of Orym (Riena Productions - Blood Blast distribution 2023)

Dark Sarah lineup

Heidi Parviainen - vocals, songwriting, lyrics, story

Sami Salonen - guitar

Henrik Airaksinen - keyboard, guitar

Rude Rothstén - bass

Thomas Tunkkari - drums

Past members

Erkka Korhonen - guitar, ( Raskasta Joulua) Dark Sarah member on “Behind The Black Veil, The Puzzle, The Golden Moth, Grim albums”. 

JP Leppäluoto - vocals (ex Charon), Dark Sarah member on “The Golden Moth” album

Jukka Koskinen - bass (Wintersun, Nightwish, ex Amberian Dawn), Dark Sarah member on “Behind The Black Veil” album

Lauri Kuussalo - drums, Dark Sarah member on “Behind The Black Veil” album

Guests appearing on Dark Sarah albums

JP Leppäluoto (ex Charon), Manuela Kraller (ex Xandria), Inga Scharf (Van Canto), Charlotte Wessels (ex Delain), Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica), Zuberoa Aznárez (Diabulus in Musica), Marco Hietala (ex Nightwish), Kasperi Heikkinen (Beast in Black, ex U.D.O, ex Amberian Dawn), Mark Jansen (EPICA)